A Tulip

Herald of spring,
It is beauty you bring!
Full of love and simplicity,
That’s what you are to me.


This time, I made a conscious effort to make this tulip in better detail but with a minimal time compared to yesterday’s violin. But I managed to finish that with 45 minutes. That’s not the best it could get but if I added more shade and make the color more vibrant, It’ll take me so long to actually finish that, but that will make a more realistic result. But I am already happy at how this turned out. It is hard to focus on both quality and speed at the same time.

Hmm…I can’t seem to get the moss green right. I only got limited pencils, and sadly the moss green isn’t included. In my place, you can only buy colored pencils on boxes, you can’t buy just one color. That’s why I pretty much make a balanced use of the colors as much as possible. I might go practice more on color combinations using the colored pencils. I might take a picture of my pencils to let you see what colors I use the most. 😀

I hope you like it. Have a greeaaat day! 😀

~ Melonaide

13 thoughts on “A Tulip

  1. Flowers are not as easy as they seem. I was trying to paint some flowers these days, too. Your tulip looks much better than my cyclamen.

    Well done!

    Like

    1. Thanks! And yeah, flowers are challenging. I sort of ‘get lost’ while doing the sketch of the petals. And each petals have different shades too. And the greens in the leaves need proper color combinations.

      Like

  2. This is a wonderfully gracious tulip, Mel–I love it. God bless you today, sweet “niece”–love, Auntie Caddo

    Like

Tell me what you think :)